Tags

, , , ,

Carrie

carrie

Lohan’s Mean Girls with some bloody scenes

Imdb synopsis

A reimagining of the classic horror tale about Carrie White, a shy girl outcast by her peers and sheltered by her deeply religious mother, who unleashes telekinetic terror on her small town after being pushed too far at her senior prom.

Director: Kimberly Peirce

Cast: Chloë Grace Moretz, Julianne Moore, Judy Greer, Gabriella Wilde

Duration: 100 minutes

Genre: Horror

Watch if you like: Warm Bodies, Let Me In, Mama and Fright Night

I thought this movie was like Mean Girls with a horror twist. And not even that frightening, but simply amusing. It starts off with a dubious scene with Julianne Moore. First off, I find Julianne Moore to be a great actress and a beautiful woman. Why would she be cast as the over-religious crazy mom? Frankly, I don’t get it. She does an okay job, but let’s be honest here. Why not cast Nicole Kidman, Sharon Stone or “American Horror Story’s” Frances Conroy? I think they would make better crazy mums. But they didn’t ask me, so moving on.

Back to the movie. I thought “Carrie” was amusing, but nothing more than that. Other than the weird casting, the modern take on the story was nice. Simple, but nice. I was rooting for Carrie and hoping she’d choose the good side. (If you’ve seen the movie, you know which side she chose.) I thought Gabriella Wilde as Sue Schnell was doing the best acting in the movie. And that’s saying something, because I love Julianne Moore, and I have no clue who Gabriella Wilde actually is. (Apparently she’ll be in a movie this year with Alex Pettyfer!)

Carrie isn’t really one to watch, but if you’re a movie fanatic like me, go and knock yourself out. I am very curious what you guys think of it, so let me know in a comment!

My rating: 6 out of 10

My favorite quote: “Go to your closet and pray”

My suggestion: If you are in for a scary night, try another movie. Try “Carrie” if you’re in for some mean girls terrorizing a naive girl who you’ll probably root for.

