Tags

,

The Family

the family

Go pop your popcorn.

IMDB synopsis:

The Manzoni family, a notorious mafia clan, is relocated to Normandy, France under the witness protection program, where fitting in soon becomes challenging as their old habits die hard.

Director: Luc Besson

Cast: Michelle Pfeiffer, Robert De Niro, Diana Agron, Tommy Lee Jones, John D’Leo.

Duration: 111 minutes

Genre: Comedy – Crime

Watch if you like: Machete, Mr. & Mrs. Smith, Married to the Mob and Crank.

This movie (also called “Malavita”) was truly entertaining and witty. I didn’t expect much, and most got disappointed by the story. But I like me a ‘good/bad’ movie. I wouldn’t have expected it, but Michelle Pfeiffer, at the age of 55, is still greatly improving as an actress. In 1983 she had her break-through in the huge hit “Scarface”, and she’s still working it in movies every year. With different roles every time she does it.

In “The Family” Michelle plays a loving mafia wife with a freak side, that still loves to blow up things. Robert De Niro (one of the great ones) plays an hilarious role as Fred Blake who also finds it really hard to get rid of his old mafia ways. And all this while their kids (Diana Agron is just fantastic!) aspire to be their bad-ass mafia parents.

Next to the cast, I also like the director, Frenchie Luc Besson. The French “Taxi” I thought was hilarious, “Taken” I absolutely love (can’t wait for the next part), “From Paris with Love” was also refreshingly funny and “Colombiana” made me want to be the fierce Cataleya (played by the beautiful Zoe Saldana).

My rating: 7 out of 10.

My suggestion: don’t spend money on this movie, but try to get it otherwise and watch it after a hard day of work to relax you. Enjoy! And tell me what you thought of it afterwards!